Used Vehicle

APR low

New Vehicle

APR low

Credit Card

APR low

Home Equity

APR low


APR low


APY up to

To help you with college expenses, we have established the State Department Federal Credit Union (SDFCU) Scholarship Fund in honor of the founders and volunteers of SDFCU. This year the Board of Directors approved a $60,000 award amount to be distributed among the winners selected by the Scholarship Committee. In addition, the top scholarship recipient was awarded the Stephen K. Fischel Memorial Scholarship of $5,000 in lieu of the regular scholarship amount.

Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2016 Scholarship Program!



School Attending in Fall of 2016

1. Alana Boyd

Political Science

Washington & Jefferson College

2. Michelle Boyd

Computer Science

Grantham University

3. Francisco Brady


Howard University

4. Kayla Coleman-Nolan

Early Childhood Education

Hood College

5. Jonathan Diaz-Lopez

Computer Science

University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

6. Damesha Edwards


Prince George’s Community College

7. Elisabeth Ericson

Chemistry/Environmental Sciences

St. Mary’s College of Maryland

8. David Ernyey

History and Middle Eastern Studies

The College of William & Mary

9. David Ethridge

International Affairs

Kennesaw State University

10. Linjiang Han

Pre-Commerce (Accounting/Finance)

University of Virginia

11. James Lewis

Biosystems Engineering & Philosophy

University of Tennessee

12. Melanie Lewis

Public Relations

University of Tennessee

13. Keira Moran

Music Business & Entertainment Industries

University of Miami

14. Leia Moran


College of William and Mary

15. Dora Obodo

Biomedical Engineering

George Mason University

16. Cathleen Payne


New York University

17. Ryan Robison

Human Ecology

College of the Atlantic

18 Felecia Ruffin

Management Studies

University of Maryland University College

19. Taisha Sims


Montgomery College

20. Tiana Thurston

Management Information Technology Systems

Coppin State University

21. Sofia Tipton


The College of William & Mary

The committee also recommends the $5,000 Stephen K. Fischel Memorial Scholarship be awarded to:

Kelia-Briel Stewart


St. John’s University


The Details

To qualify you must:

  • Have your own account in good standing with SDFCU
  • Be currently enrolled in a degree program and have completed 12 credit hours of coursework at an accredited college or university (AP courses do not count)
  • Have achieved a minimum 2.5 GPA (Cumulative on a 4.0 scale) and submit official/sealed transcripts
  • Submit the completed application and all required information by the deadline (tuition bill copy, W-2 form(s), Personal Statement and Official Transcript


The Rules

  • Check back in the spring when we are accepting applications for the 2017 Scholarship Program
  • Credit union employees, volunteers and their families are not eligible
  • Transcripts must be in sealed envelope from your college or university. No photocopies of transcripts or faxes are allowed. Please note that all transcripts will not be returned
  • If you do not have a tuition bill, please substitute a photocopy of the university catalog online of your student expenses for the year. Please note which expenses apply and the total dollar amount
  • If you are self-supporting, submit your W-2 form(s). If you are a dependent, supply the W-2(s) of your supporting party


a couple with travel gear

To answer some of your questions, please refer to the Scholarship FAQ's.


   Contact Us

Savings Calculators